Le Coteau

This is where it all started. In 1856, Dosville is a village located on Mont Canisy. It dominated a vast area of ​​marshland that extended to the sea, a territory frequently flooded. It then had 104 inhabitants near the Saint Laurent Church.
In 1859, Mayor Jean Louis Auguste Brunet sold these marshes to the Duke of Morny who, with his associates, created the seaside resort of Deauville. The town of Dosville is gradually abandoned. 23 families lived there in 1921.
It was not until 1964 that the City of Deauville reinvested this territory. Two concerted development zones were undertaken in 1971. Today it is a residential district which combines individual houses and social housing.
Its location on Mont Canisy offers a breathtaking view of Deauville and the coast, which can be admired from the cemetery of the Saint Laurent Church.

le_coteau_deauville © EParker Elizabeth Parker
Close

Contact us:
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00
info@indeauville.fr


Our tourist information offices:

DEAUVILLE TOURISM
Residence of the Clock
Empress Eugenie wharf
14800 Deauville
See opening hours

VILLERS-SUR-MER TOURISM
Place Jean-Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See opening hours

BLONVILLE-SUR-MER TOURISM
32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See opening hours

VILLERVILLE TOURISM
40 rue du Général Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See opening hours

ANY TOURISM
20 Place Lemercier
14800 Toques
See opening hours

TOURGÉVILLE TOURISM
Louis Delamare Promenade
(behind the aid station)
14800 Tourgeville
See opening hours