To support tomorrow's talents

Namsa Leuba, lauréate du Concours en 2010. ©Sandrine Boyer-Engel
Séance photo 2011, Villa Strassburger. ©Ville de Deauville

In parallel with artists’ residences, the Fondation Louis Roederer student contest invites every year for a photography residence ten students, coming in 2015 from the three best European photography schools.
Like the photographers invited to the festival, each of them is supposed to represent his/her personal project passing through their visual universe and a specific aspect of the city they are discovering. Their work will be exhibited for the duration of the festival at the Franciscaines site and submitted to the jury, chaired by Bettina Rheims.

Two awards, the City of Deauville award and the Public award , funded by the City of Deauville and by the Fondation Louis Roederer and assigned by the Planche(s) Contact jury, will be allocated to two out of ten students. An allocation of € 5,000 (City of Deauville award) and of € 3,000 (Public Award) will be assigned to the award winners, together with an exhibition order for the next edition of the Planche(s) Contact Festival for the first laureate. At the end of the festival, the photographic prints join the public photographic collection of the City of Deauville.

Séance photo 2011, Villa Strassburger. ©Ville de Deauville

The 2016 competition

More details here


2010 / Laureate: Namsa Leuba (ECAL)
Nicolas Genta (ECAL), Guillaume Collignon (ECAL), Namsa Leuba (ECAL), Alice Evans (Royal College of Art, London), Noha Moktar (ECAL), Charles Negre (ECAL), Cedric Raccio (ECAL)

2011 / Laureate: Kate Fichard (ECAL)
Romain Mader (ECAL), Cyril Porchet (ECAL), Kate Fichard (ECAL), Damian Griffiths (Royal College UK), Lizzie Vickery (Royal College Canada), Alice Evans (Royal College UK)

2012 / Laureate: Lore Stessel (ENSP Arles)
Eugenia Ivanissevich (Royal College of Art, Argentine), Julia de Cooker (ECAL), Maria Barkova (Accademia di Belliart), Michal Florence Schorro ( ECAL), Prune Simon-Vermot (ECAL), Sylvain Jacques-Couzinet (ENSP Arles), Valentina Ghiringhelli (Nuova Accademia Di Belle Arti, Milan), Lore Stessel (ENSP Arles), Marie Sommer (ENSP Arles).

2013 / Laureates: Camille Picquot (La Cambre, Bruxelles) & Tono Mejuto (Blank Paper, Madrid).
Fabiola Cedillo (Blank Paper, Madrid), Laetitia Jeurissen (La Cambre, Bruxelles), Marie Leroux (ENSP Arles), Johathan LLense (ENSP Arles), Tono Mejuto (Blank Paper, Madrid), Pauline Miserez (ECAL), Hemya Moran (Royal College of Art, London), Camille Picquot (La Cambre, Bruxelles), Peter Watkins (Royal College of Art, London), Marion Wertenbroek (ECAL).

2014 / Laureate: Maïa Izzo Foulquier (ENSP Arles)
Sofia Chalaguina (La Cambre Bruxelles), Julie Delabarre (BlankPaper Madrid), Maïa Izzo-Foulquier, (ENSP Arles), Flore-Adèle Gau, (ENSP Arles), Aras Gökten (Ostkreuzschule Berlin), Dominic Hawgood (Royal College of Art, London), Audrey Lenchantin (La Cambre Bruxelles), Hanqing Ma (RCA London), Maja A.Ngom (RCA London), Yana Wernicke (Ostkreuzschule Berlin).

2015 / Laureate of the Louis Roederer Foundation Prize: Anna Broujean (ENSP Arles) / Laureate of the Public Prize: Carl Bigmore (London College of communication, London)
Marguerite Bornhauser (ENSP Arles), Anna Broujean (ENSP Arles), Carl  Bigmore (London College of communication, London), Ryan Nell (London College of communication, London), Kos (London College of communication, London), Mirjam Stanke (London College of communication, London), Coline Amos (ECAL), Jacques- Aurélien Brun (ECAL), Younes Klouche (ECAL), Jean-Vincent Simonet (ECAL)

The Planche(s) Contact Jury

Bettina Rheims, president
Isabelle Huppert, actress
Marin Karmitz, founder of the MK2 company
Philippe Augier, Mayor of Deauville
Serge Bramly, writer
Héloïse Conesa, curator in charge of contemporary photography at the Bibliothèque Nationale de France (BnF) in Paris
Thierry Consigny, publicist
Babeth Djian, managing director of the Numero magazine
Alain Genestar, managing director of the Polka magazine
Thierry Grillet, managing director of the B.n.F cultural action
Didier Mouchel, former project manager in charge of photography at the Pôle images de Haute-Normandie
Jean-Jacques Naudet, director of L’Oeil de la Photographie
Didier Quilain, president of Olympus France

Michel Janneau, Champagne Louis Roederer
Aurélie Tisseyre, Directrice VU Agence & Galerie