French Dutch English German Spanish

Books competing for the Prix de la Ville de Deauville.

© Laurent Lachèvre

Music inspires them in their writings and in their lives. Classical, jazz, rock, world music, whatever, they all have in common an insatiable appetite for notes. For more than fifteen years, the Books & Music Festival of Deauville, thanks to its prize, has explored French literary production and honors contemporary authors for whom music is one of the challenges of creation. After winning Jea Mattern in 2019, the winner of the 2020 edition will be announced on April 4 in Deauville. The Prize is endowed with € 4.

The works selected in 2020:

Akira MIZUBAYASHI, Broken soul, Gallimard editions
Lola GRUBER, Three concerts, Editions Phébus
Julien DECOIN, Turntables, Seuil Editions
Eric FAYE, Chopin's telegraphist, Seuil Editions
Alexis RAGOUGNEAU, Opus 77, Editions Viviane-Hamy
Karol BEFFA, Guillaume METAYER and Aleksi CAVAILLEZ, Ravel, A musical imagination, Seuil-Delcourt editions

Summaries here

Jury members



The winning authors since the creation of Books & Music: 

In 2019: Jean Mattern, The Blue LakeSabine Wespieser editor

2018: Pascal Quignard, In this garden we loved, Grasset

2017: Frédérique Deghelt, Libertango,  Actes Sud editions

2016: Virginie Despentes, Vernon Subutex Vol 2., Grasset editions

2015: Michel Bernard, Ravel's forests, Éditions La Table ronde and Gil by Célia Houdart POL
2014: Gilles Leroy, Nina Simone, Mercure de France Editions
2013: Bruno Le Maire, Absolute music : a rehearsal with Carlos Kleiber, Gallimard editions
2012: Stéphane Héaume, Sheridan Square, editions Threshold and special jury prize to Philippe and Scarlett Reliquet, Listen to Handel, Gallimard editions
2011: Nicolas d'Estienne d'Orves, Jacques Offenbach, Éditions Actes Sud

2010: Colette Fellous, For Dalida, Flammarion Editions
2009: Stanislas Merhar, Small poisons, Fayard Editions
2008: Valentine Goby, The escapede, Gallimard Editions
2007: Alain Gerber, Paul Desmond and the feminine side of the world, Fayard Editions
2006 Jean Echenoz, Ravel, Editions de Minuit
2005: Max Genève, The violinist, Zulma editions
2004: Maxence Firmine, Amazone, Editions Albin Michel