Perceval Gilles


Born in 1987 into a family of musicians, Perceval Gilles began his musical studies at the age of six at the Montpellier Conservatory where he obtained his violin and chamber music diplomas in 2003.

At the age of sixteen, he was admitted to the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris in the class of Olivier Charlier and Joanna Matkowska. In May 2008, he obtained his diploma of higher education with honors as well as the Françoise Doreau prize, rewarding his interpretation of Luciano Berio's Sequenza for violin.

Eager to acquire as broad and complete a musical education as possible, he studied music writing and conducting, as well as chamber music with Alain Meunier, David Walter, Itamar Golan, Marc Coppey and Vladimir Mendelssohn.

In 2007, he founded the Atanassov trio with Sarah Sultan on cello and Pierre-Kaloyann Atanassov on piano. In 2015 he formed a string quartet with Amaury Coeytaux, Léa Hennino and Victor Julien-Laferrière.

Since then, the trio has been awarded numerous prizes, the most significant of which are undoubtedly the 1st prize at the International Schumann Chamber Music Competition in Frankfurt, a Diapason d'or for the Dvořák-Smetana disc, a 3rd prize at the Osaka International Chamber Music Competition as well as at the International Joseph Haydn Competition in Vienna.

Perceval Gilles regularly performs in renowned concert halls and festivals such as the Wigmore Hall in London, the Konzerthaus in Vienna, the Folles Journées, the Salle Cortot, the Cité de la Musique, the Alte Oper in Frankfurt, the Schloss Esterhazy in Eisenstadt, the Sofia Philharmonic.

Perceval Gilles plays on a violin made in 1875 by Georges Cunault. The acquisition of this instrument was made possible by the Meyer Foundation.


Contact us :
+33 (0)2 31 14 40 00

Our tourist information offices :

Residence de l'Horloge
Quai de l'Impératrice Eugénie
14800 Deauville
See the opening hours

Place Jean Mermoz
14640 Villers-sur-Mer
See the opening hours

32 bis avenue Michel d'Ornano
14910 Blonville-sur-Mer
See the opening hours

40 rue du General Leclerc
14113 Villerville
See the opening hours

20 Place Lemercier
14800 Touques
See the opening hours

Promenade Louis Delamare
(behind the first aid station)
14800 Tourgéville
See the opening hours